Constructed in 1906 at the then almost unheard of cost of $2 million, the hotel then added a large addition in 1911. The addition included a beautiful banquet hall with a spectacular stained-glass ceiling, now known as the Palm Court.
One of L.A.'s most enduring landmarks and the "shortest railway in the world" opened in 1901, and the funicular still carries passengers between Hill Street, just steps from Metro's Pershing Square Station, and the top of Bunker Hill.
Built in 1903 and the largest individual investment for an office building in Los Angeles at the time, the building was acquired and renovated in 1976 making it the first major step in revitalizing Spring Street.
This project thoughtfully restored a beloved century-old city park, preserving its original pioneering design, while making it environmentally sustainable and adding modern infrastructure and design features to meet changing community needs.