Press Release: L.A. Conservancy Announces 2016 Preservation Awards | Los Angeles Conservancy

Press Release: L.A. Conservancy Announces 2016 Preservation Awards

LOS ANGELES, March 10, 2016—The Los Angeles Conservancy has announced the recipients of its 35th annual Preservation Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in the field of historic preservation. This was another competitive year, with thirty-two submissions and many deserving projects. As always, this year’s projects reflect a wide range of efforts to preserve L.A. County’s architectural heritage. 

The nine award recipients are:

CHAIRMAN’S AWARD (formerly known as the PRESIDENT'S AWARD)
This beloved landmark in downtown Los Angeles was painstakingly restored and reimagined for the twenty-first century, fueling new memories for new generations.

Brand Library and Art Center, Glendale
One of Glendale’s most iconic buildings received a much-needed renovation and seismic upgrade, revitalizing an anchor of the community and exemplifying civic stewardship.

Golden State Mutual Life Insurance Building, West Adams
Designed by Paul Revere Williams, this extremely important structure to both Los Angeles and African-American history enjoys new life as the centerpiece of a nonprofit campus.

Hollenbeck Terrace, Boyle Heights
A former hospital, neglected and underused for many years, reclaimed its role as a community resource through adaptive reuse as affordable housing for seniors. 

Homeless Veterans Transitional Housing, VA Campus/West Los Angeles 
A successful pilot project rehabilitated a historic building as federally funded transitional housing for veterans, providing a model for meeting a critical need nationwide. 

Hotel Normandie, Koreatown
A dedicated owner rebuffed lucrative redevelopment bids for this historic hotel, essentially crowdsourcing a careful restoration and catalytic investment in the neighborhood.  

Kronish House, Beverly Hills and Van Dekker House, Woodland Hills
Two highly significant, yet seriously threatened, Modern homes were saved from demolition by private owners who came to the rescue at critical moments.

SurveyLA LGBT Historic Context Statement, City of Los Angeles
This document is the first in the U.S. to offer a framework for evaluating historic places that contribute to our rich (yet often overlooked) lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender heritage.

Photos of the award recipients and their respective photo credits are available for download here.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon on Thursday, May 5 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. The luncheon is a rare opportunity for hundreds of business and community leaders to hear inspirational stories of how historic preservation strengthens communities and fosters economic development. City National Bank will sponsor the luncheon for the sixteenth consecutive year.

Preservation Award recipients are selected by an independent jury of leading experts in architecture, historic preservation, and community development. The 2016 jury included:

Chair: Trudi Sandmeier
Director, USC Graduate Programs in Heritage Conservation

Antonio Castillo
President, Highland Park Heritage Trust

Morgan Sykes Jaybush, LEED AP
Project Manager, Omgivning Architects, Interior Designers, Urbanists

Eric Needleman
Principal, The Spirited Group, LLC

Lisa Trifiletti
Deputy Executive Director, Environmental Programs, Los Angeles World Airports

About the Preservation Awards
Since 1982, the Los Angeles Conservancy has honored excellence in the field of historic preservation through its annual Preservation Awards. The awards are selected by an independent jury of experts in architecture, historic preservation, and community development. 

Award recipients range widely, from sensitive restoration, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse projects, to groundbreaking advocacy and education efforts by individuals and groups. 

In addition to the project awards, the Conservancy bestows a special Chairman’s Award (formerly known as the President's Award) for exceptional contributions. Past recipients of this award include the J. Paul Getty Trust, Wilshire Boulevard Temple, and photographer Julius Shulman.

Media Contact: Tiffany Narváez,