Angels Flight™ Railway is one of Los Angeles' most enduring landmarks. Constructed and opened in 1901, it carried passengers up and down the steep slope between downtown and the top of Bunker Hill, then a fashionable residential district.
Billed as the "shortest railway in the world," the funicular has two cars, Olivet and Sinai, connected to the same cable and counterbalancing one another. Taken over by the city in 1962 in connection with the Bunker Hill Urban Renewal Project, Angels Flight continued to operate until 1969, when the City dismantled the railway and stored the cars and buildings.
In 1996, the City completed its rebuilding of the railway – at a new location a half block south of the original – and then transferred title to the private, nonprofit Angels Flight Railway Foundation. Following an accident in 2001, the Foundation commissioned the design and installation of an entirely new drive and control system.
Olivet and Sinai resumed public service in 2010, connecting Hill Street, just steps away from Metro's northern portal for the Red/Purple Line Pershing Square Station, and California Plaza's Watercourt at the top of Bunker Hill.
Service was suspended again in September 2013, and the funicular reopened on August 31, 2017 following a series of safety upgrades.