Preservation Awards

At our annual Preservation Awards Luncheon, we honor the best in preservation from across Los Angeles County. Each recipient has a distinct story about the power of preservation.

2015 Preservation Awards

President's Award: Alan Hess

Hafley HouseKun House

Hollyhock House

LAUSD Historic Context Statement

Lincoln Place

Pacific Electric Railway - El Prado Bridge

Rosslyn Hotel Apartments

Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts

Past Award Recipients

View a selection of our past Preservation Award recipients

2015 Preservation Awards Jury

Jonathan Veitch, Chair
     Occidental College

Kaitlin Drisko, Architect
     Drisko Studio Architects

Susan Healy Keene, AICP
     Director of Community Development
     City of Beverly Hills

Edward Kelsey
     Historic Building Services Inc.

Michelle G. Magalong
     Asian & Pacific Islander Americans in Historic Preservation

About the Awards

Since 1982, the Conservancy has honored excellence in the field of historic preservation with our annual Preservation Awards. The awards are selected by an independent jury of experts in architecture, historic preservation, and community development.

To be eligible for a project award, projects must have been completed by December 31 of the previous year and be located in L.A. County. Applications for 2016 will be available in December 2015.

Award recipients range widely, from sensitive restoration, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse projects, to groundbreaking advocacy and education efforts by individuals and groups.

Submissions come from throughout Los Angeles County and illustrate the value and power of historic preservation.

In addition to the project awards, the Conservancy bestows a special President's Award for exceptional contributions.

Past recipients of the President's Award include the City of Los Angeles Community Redevelopment Agency, architectural historians Esther McCoy and Robert W. Winter, and the Los Angeles Historic Preservation Overlay Zone (HPOZ) Movement.

Construction projects may be commercial, residential, or institutional. Historic landscape projects, as well as contributions to preservation education or program development, are also encouraged.

View some of our past award recipients